Home Contact us Sitemap 
  Profile of judges for 2000
IIM candidates | IIT candidates

For IIM candidates
Dr. Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Director, Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER)

Dr. Isher Judge Ahluwalia is the Chairperson of the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER), and a former director and chief executive of the organisation. She is also chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the International Food Policy Research Institute and a member of the Governing Body of the Global Development Network, which are headquartered in Washington, DC and New Delhi, respectively. She is the vice-chairperson of the Planning Board of the state of Punjab in India.

Until recently she was a visiting professor at the School of Public Affairs, University of Maryland, College Park (2003-2004). Prior to joining ICRIER as chief executive in 1998, she was a research professor at the Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi and also worked as a senior fellow at the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy in New Delhi.

Her other assignments include working as an economist at the IMF and as a consultant to the United Nations University and the Indian government. Her research has focused on industrial development and economic liberalisation in India, a topic on which she has published widely. She has also frequently contributed to the policy debate on economic issues in newspapers, magazines and television. She holds a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Abid Hussain, former Ambassador to the USA

Dr. Hussain is the former Indian ambassador to USA. He is currently a Member of the International Panel on Democracy and Development of UNESCO.

He has been a member of the Indian Administrative Service and served in various capacities at the Centre. He was Secretary, Ministry of Heavy Industries, Commerce Secretary, Government of India and Chairman, IIFT. He became Member, Planning Commission in 1985.

In the year 1988, he was honoured with PADMA BHUSHAN for meritorious services. Dr. Hussain was for nine years Special Rapporteur to UN on Freedom of Opinion and Expression. Hussain was a member of the Constitution Review Commission set up by Government of India. Till recently Dr. Hussain was a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, New York. He is now the member of Asia Society, New York.

During his long standing career he was U.N. Adviser to Turkey on Community Development for two years and also Chief of Industrial, Technology, Human Settlements and Environment in the UN Regional Commission of ESCAP, Bangkok for seven years.

Dr. Hussain has presided over several national and international Conferences and contributed papers on contemporary issues.

Dr. Hussain had chaired six important committees set up by the Government of India, namely, Trade Policy Reforms; Project Exports; CSIR Review Committee for Development of Science and Technology; Textile Policy of the Government of India; Development of Capital Market; and Abid Hussain Committee on Small Scale Industries.

Dr. Vishwanath A. Pai Panandiker
, President, Centre for Policy Research

Mr. Bharat Patel, Chairman, Procter and Gamble

Mr. Bharat Patel obtained an MBA in Marketing from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA and an MA in Economics from the University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, USA. He joined Vicks International, New York as Marketing Trainee in 1969 and on its merger with Procter & Gamble, moved to Procter & Gamble and had a long and distinguished career there.

He worked in various capacities for Procter & Gamble including as Operations Director, Associate General Manager, Category Manager, Country Manager and Executive Vice President.

Top of the page

For IIT candidates
Dr. P. K. Iyenger, former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission

Dr P. K. Iyengar has been associated for over four decades with the Indian Department of Atomic Energy. Dr.Iyengar took over as Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in 1984 and was appointed Chairman of the Indian Atomic Energy Commission in 1990.

In his long career Dr. P.K.Iyengar has been the recipient of many awards and honours, including the S. S. Bhatnagar Award and the Padma Bhushan.

Prof. Sudhanshu S. Jha, Director and Distinguished Professor of Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Dr. S. M. Sundaram, former Director, BARC-Reactor Operations

Top of the page

More info on the scholarship
Our academic partners
About our Founder
Speeches by our Founder
Our panel of judges